Dapbim

Archive for July 6th, 2011

Well, drat. I shot myself in the foot here, didn’t I, by posting a picture of my grandfathers when we did Dads a couple of weeks ago. Still, I was sorting out some scanned pictures on my hard drive a few weeks ago, and re-found two of my favourite pictures ever, so I’ll share them today.

My father’s parents on their wedding day. It’s like something out of a film! Aren’t they beautiful? And I love how happy they look.

This is my Nanna, with her sisters. She must be about 17 on this shot, we think. Incidentally, her sister Frances, on the left (who died of TB about a year after this photo was taken) is well known for being my doppelgänger. They always say that if you go back far enough in your family, you’ll find someone who looks just like you. Well, Frances is it for me. Sad we never met, would have been great to see what I would have looked like at 60 😉

I love old photos. Both of my grandmothers have died in the past 6 years, so I am lucky to have some great memories of them, but still, they are all of old ladies, and of course the same will be true of my memories of Grandad and Grandpa (although it’s funny, when I was small, they were not much older than my parents are now, and yet I always remember them as elderly! Funny the way perception changes). It’s easy to forget that they were teenagers, and newly-weds, and new parents…

This post is for The Gallery. Rush over to Tara’s blog and see some more great posts on the topic of Grandparents now!!


July 2011
M T W T F S S
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031